MY FAVOURITE AUTUMNAL DRINKS | CHOCOLATE, LATTES & PUMPKINS

HEY HEY HEY!

Welcome or welcome back to my blog! I am so happy to be writing today’s post for two main reasons: 1. Autumn is my FAVOURITE month ( I just love the fact you can be all cosy on the couch but also be outside on countryside walks whenever!) and 2. I n summer I did a blog relatively similar to this one and you guys really loved it so I thought I’d do an autumn themed one!

I thought I’d switch from pink to an autumn theme 🙂
  1. Gourmet Hot Chocolate – Hot Chocolate is a classic! It’s sweet, warm and yummy so what more would you want after a cold walk in the woods? They’re just so inviting; even more when they have whipped cream and marshmallows on!

This my recipe!

  1. Fill your favourite mug with milk (make sure the mug is microwave proof).
  2. Pop the mug in the microwave for 2 minutes 30 seconds but stir after each minute to avoid a skin forming on the milk.
  3. Once the milk is hot put 5 -6 teaspoons of grated chocolate into the milk and stir until it all dissolves into the milk. (If some of the chocolate won’t dissolve pop the hot chocolate back into the microwave for around 30 seconds.
  4. OPTIONAL: Now its time for whipped cream. Squirt as much as you want onto your hot chocolate going round in circular movements to get it even!
  5. OPTIONAL: Sprinkle on some marshmallows!
  6. Enjoy your hot chocolate!!

2. Vanilla Latte – I tried a vanilla latte for the first time a couple of weeks ago (admittingly it was a powder that you mix with hot water) and I really liked it. If you want autumn in a nut shell – then you need to try a vanilla latte!

Here is a recipe (not mine):

MAKES 4 MUG FULLS! I’d divide the ingredients by 4 to get one mug and maybe simmer for 2 minutes because there will be less liquid 🙂

  • 2 cups strongly-brewed coffee or espresso
  • 3/4 cups unsweetened almond milk
  • 3/4 cups full-fat coconut milk
  • 1/3 cups pure maple syrup
  • 1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. Combine all of the ingredients in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Simmer for 5 minutes, whisking occasionally, until heated through and slightly frothy on top.
  2. Carefully transfer the liquid to a blender and cover the top with a towel. Blend on high for 30 seconds until foamy. Alternatively, use an immersion blender in the pot. 
  3. Divide among four mugs and serve.

3. Pumpkin Spiced Latte – I’ve never tried a pumpkin spiced latte but I know they’re a big autumn hype at Starbucks but I also know Starbucks may not be easy to get to currently because of certain restrictions so here is a recipe for a pumpkin spiced latte that I found online:

A lovely little recipe (not mine):

2 oz brewed espresso or brewed strong coffee (I like Detour Coffee’s Punch Buggy Espresso’ here)

2 Tbsp Pumpkin Spice Latte Base (recipe below)

1 cup whole milk or milk of choice, steamed

Sweetened whipped cream, for serving

Pumpkin spice, for serving (optional)Latte Base

½ cup tightly packed demerara sugar (dark brown sugar)

½ cup water

½ cup pumpkin puree

2 Tbsp vanilla extract

1 Tbsp + 1 tsp pumpkin spice

¼ tsp salt

1. In a warm mug, combine espresso and latté base. Top with steamed milk. Serve hot with whipped cream and a sprinkle of pumpkin spice, if using Latte Base.

1. In a medium saucepan, warm water and sugar over medium heat until sugar is dissolved (about 2 minutes). Remove from heat and whisk in remaining ingredients. Strain through a fine mesh sieve into a glass jar. Seal jar and refrigerate for up to 1 month. Shake or stir before use.

I really hoped you liked todays post and have found some little recipes you’d like to try if you have a spare couple of minutes before you watch a movie. I think my aim for this week is to make a vanilla latte from scratch if I can find the ingredients, hahah!

As a little end to this post I thought it would be fun to do a little section on your favourite drinks so I put a question box on my instagram asking your favourite autumnal drinks and here were the responses:

  • hot chocolate (an all time favourite it seems hehe)
  • cinnamon hot chocolate
  • chai
  • hot chocolate with marshmallows
  • mocha
  • hot hazelnut chocolate
  • mulled apple cider

QOTB: What is your favourite autumn drink? I’m always looking for new things to try!!

the blog girl <3xxx

Published by the blog girl <3

Hi! I'm the blog girl and this is my blog! I share things food, lifestyle and positivity related in the hope to make someone smile :)

4 thoughts on “MY FAVOURITE AUTUMNAL DRINKS | CHOCOLATE, LATTES & PUMPKINS

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started